Latest Rant-Public Transportation

June 16, 2008 at 6:27 am Leave a comment

So today’s rant is on public transportation. I shall start in Albany and then move to the greater Capital District.

Public Transportation in Albany is abysmal at best. And it has become a endless loop of mismanagement, idiocracy, and just plain stupidity. The lack of planning that has progressed over the many years has only created a endless domino effect of encouraging people not to use public transportation.

Who is to blame? The Capital District Transportation Authority (CDTA) is the obvious answer, but this is not solely and absolutely the problem. If we take Albany for instance, the PUblic Transportation is VERY INCONVENIENT to take in most instances. As long as you don’t need to transfer buses, and as long as you live near a route, and as long as you want to take CDTA between the hours or 8-5:30, its not horrible. But any other time or place, god help you.

By no means am I asking for the CDTA to be like the MTA, or DC Metro, as that would be obviously unobtainable. But, simple things that CDTA could do to increase rider ship would be to have some bus lines that run through the inner core of the city to run past 10:00 which many of them stop at.

This makes me every day to figure out what I have to do throughout the day, and if there is any possibility that I would stay downtown later then just for work, as in many instances this would cause me to resort to using my car. I’m not asking for 24 hour service, and all routes, but having them run so I don’t have to worry about this would be great.

For instance, this morning I was going to New York for work. As the good environmentally conscious person I am, I chose to take Amtrak instead of driving down to New York. But, as I researched the possibility of taking the CDTA from my apartment to the Train Station in Rennselear, I found that not only could I not take the bus going, I also could not get it coming back. Honestly? The best part of they story is that CDTA owns the train station, so you would think they would want to encourage people to ride CDTA to the train station then the 3 routes that go there now. On the way over I can partially understand as I am taking an early train, but I am coming back at 10:30-11ish…Not that late. Why can’t CDTA run a shuttle across the Dunn Memorial Bridge from the Empire State Plaza to the train station starting an hour before the 1st train out, and an hour after the last train arriving? If they could make it more affordable than the gouging prices of Metroland Taxi, everyone would win. In fact, I have a great idea, build a automatic shuttle that goes across the partially built “Bridge to nowhere” portion of the Dunn Memorial Bridge, that goes back and forth between the Train Station, and the Capitol, Empire State Plaza, and Downtown. Now I am no city planner, so I can’t tell you the cost of this exactly, but according to my engineering friends, this would be about the cost, or less than a convention center. I think my plan is better than the Tan Man. What do you think?

This is only the first rant on Public Transportation. Don’t fret, there are more to come.

Entry filed under: Rants.

Chang’s? Bus info on Google Maps!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


