Latest Rant-The Convention Center

June 2, 2008 at 2:51 pm Leave a comment

So, I decided, I am going to start a new feature, my latest rants. For those of you with Google Readers, you may just want to mark as read and move on, those who want a little entertainment, read on.

The Albany Convention Center is by far the most ridiculous proposal I have ever heard come out of the City of Albany. After many years of planning and designs for this monstrosity, I still don’t know what the point is. The idea is that if you build it, they will come. Don’t get me wrong, I think many organizations come to Albany, but aren’t the existing places big enough? Why do we need to have more destruction of historical buildings, or greenspace to further The Tan Man’s Plan?

I don’t know about you, but If I was looking at a place for a national conference, or something that would be the approximate size of the convention center, here are just a few of my options: Orlando, Anaheim, Chicago, New York, Washington, Branson, Austin, Las Vegas, Boston, and Albany. Well, after I find out Branson is full for the week of my conference, my obvious next choice is Albany…Why? I  want my members to experience Albany in February. Maybe this isn’t a bad idea if I was heading up an Amway conference, because if you can put up with Albany in February, you can sell ice cubes to Eskimos. I don’t want them to enjoy themselves in Vegas, or Orlando. Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of things to do in Albany, and a lot of great things at that, but I just don’t think the market is there, despite what the Tan Man says.

Entry filed under: Politics, Rants.

7th Ward- First Post Ice Cream!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


